Resident Evil 6 Hate, Absence, Looking Forward.

Between being busy lately and having some major writer’s block, I haven’t been writing. Things have been a little bit hectic and I haven’t really been able to concentrate. I am trying to work on some bigger, more interesting pieces, but I will say I’m having trouble putting them together. I could easily keep writing about the same things over and over, but that will lead to my writing becoming stagnant very quickly, something I really want to avoid. I haven’t been able to adhere to this schedule of updating three times a week. Sorry about that.

That being said, I really want to address something I’ve been seeing a lot of lately. The enthusiast press is getting called out for giving high profile games lower scores. Resident Evil 6 came out this week, and the ratings it has received have been all over the board. This is clearly looking to be a divisive title for a lot of people. While I was initially interested in it, looking at how it has progressed through development has stunted any real attachment I had. I’m not a huge fan of the Resident Evil series to begin with, so it isn’t that big of a deal.

The part that really upsets me is the fan response to these lower scores. Phillip Kollar from Polygon gave Resident Evil 6 a 4/10, while Jim Sterling of Destructoid gave it a 3.0. Kevin Van Ord from Gamespot gave it a 4.5. Not all of the review scores have been completely negative, but of course the lower scores are the ones that have received the most attention. By attention, I mean that personal attacks have been made against these people on Twitter. Over a fucking video game.

This is unacceptable.

A while back I wrote a little bit about how the fan response to Bayonetta 2 has also been divisive, at worst resulting in a social media death threat at Hideki Kamiya. This is beyond madness. I realize they are a vocal minority in the landscape of the gaming community, but that isn’t an excuse to be a total asshole. If someone gives a game you like a bad score, that’s fine. It’s not a big deal. Are you really going to let it stop your enjoyment of the game? Do you have that little of an actual opinion that someone badmouthing your precious video game is going to negatively affect your day? This seriously baffles me. I really don’t know what to think about it.

I’m growing to really hate the word “gamer,” especially lately. To me, the picture painted when I hear it has become every stereotype that I used to believe was untrue. I never wanted to believe that gamers were this awful. Having been to Penny Arcade Expo, the experiences I’ve had with people there have been almost nothing but pleasant. Yeah, there’s a couple bad apples in there once and a while, but I’ve met so many awesome people that just love gaming and don’t seem to get so upset over something so trivial. Those are the people I want to associate with the hobby. Unfortunately, the vocal minority of gaming’s hardcore elite have tainted that for me, and now that’s all I can think about.

I have friends that take video games a lot more seriously for me. Yeah, I enjoy them a lot, hence why I run this blog and write about them, but they aren’t something I use as much of an identification of who I am. In truth, I have a lot of other expensive hobbies, some of which take precedence over gaming. Gaming is just something I enjoy doing, but anymore, I don’t really consider myself much of a “gamer.” I’m not up on all the latest releases, I’m still working on playing through games that came out a few years ago. I have allegiances to certain studios, but it isn’t a huge part of how I perceive myself. Video games are a big part of my life, but I don’t let them define my life. The people who define their lives by it are typically the ones who are that angry, vocal minority that is ready to burn any naysayer at the stake. I never want to become that. It’s thankfully unlikely that I ever will.

As I said earlier, I’ve been busy lately, and this blog has taken kind of a secondary role in my priorities. I’ve been stressed out and I’m trying to get a lot of my own issues sorted out. Of course, the writer’s block certainly isn’t helping. It’s likely that I’m going to be changing the focus of this blog to something a little more all encompassing. This sort of writing is therapeutic, and I guess I don’t like that the focus of this blog has me limited to writing about video games. I really want to write about music, movies and other things. I also really want to try and write a little more about my boring-ass everyday life and see if I can’t turn this into more of a fully featured blog. I have ideas for things. That all being said, I’m gonna make some huge changes here over the next couple weeks as I decide where I want to take this.

If anyone out there reads this, I’ll see you soon.

 

One thought on “Resident Evil 6 Hate, Absence, Looking Forward.

  1. Sounds like you’ve got a lot on your plate right now. Hang in there. I’d be interested to read what you have to say about music, movies and all pop culture.

Leave a Reply

