Going Underground

My life continues to get more and more hectic lately, so of course, I haven’t been able to update. I’m not happy about it, but work and other obligations have crept up, and this sort of writing just hasn’t been working out for me. It sucks, but what can you do?

So, I have a very big project that starts tomorrow and this blog is going to go dark(er) for a month. I’m starting up my NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) entry tomorrow. I wanted to enter last year, but just didn’t have the energy or creative idea for it. This year I’ve got a great idea, and I’m really excited to get to it. The idea of NaNoWriMo is to write a 50000 word novel by the end of the day, November 31. It’s more about quantity than quality, but as someone who desperately wants to make a career out of writing, I’m putting my best effort into this.

I doubt I’ll be updating over the month of November, which sucks because I really wanted to implement all the new things, but I might post a few updates here and there about how the novel project is going. If I’m happy with the initial results at the end of the month, I’m going to spend the next couple months editing and doing at least one rewrite. After that, I’m going to consider self-publishing my work to Amazon, if only to put it out there. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time, so I’m hoping I can make it work.

I guess I’ll at least talk a little about what I’ve been playing lately. I finished Code of Princess on 3DS, and it was a lot of fun. I wish there was a little more to it, but I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth out of it. Since then my free time has been divided between Dark Souls, which I just bought on PC, and Final Fantasy: Four Heroes of Light. I’m greatly enjoying both of them, and I just picked up the PC version of Sleeping Dogs yesterday, so I’m going to try and start that up in the next day or two. I’ve yet to play a lot of the big titles from this year, and some of them I won’t even get to until early next year, if at all. I tell myself that someday I’ll get to the Mass Effect series, and someday I might play the rest of the Assassin’s Creed games, but with the amount of substantial free time I have, my gaming is usually best confined to portable systems. My 3DS has become my best friend lately, offering me something small and enjoyable I can play in bed each night before falling asleep. At the rate I’m going, I might finish Final Fantasy in a couple weeks or so, but those sort of games really lend themselves to be played in short bursts.

The rest of my year basically consists of getting through all these games I’ve amassed lately, the Wii U launch, and Persona 4 Golden. I’m doing a review for Persona 4 at Substance TV, so that’s going to be my priority during Thanksgiving break. I’m taking that whole weekend off of work, so there will be a lot of Persona in my future. Can I finish it in a week for review? I guess we’ll have to find out. It’s been a long time since I really heavily mainlined a JRPG. Persona 3 actually took me a little over a month to play, as I’d just chip away at it an hour or so at a time. It wasn’t until I got near the end that I started putting a lot more time into it.

I don’t want it to go completely dark here during the next month, so I’m really going to try and at least put something up once a week, if only to prove that I’m still alive and that things are happening. Like I said, I was really hoping to get a new layout and everything implemented, but it’s just not working the way I want it to yet. I don’t really like doing these sort of “yep, still alive” posts, since I know I don’t exactly have a regular readership, so I’m mainly doing them for my own sake. I don’t want to feel like I’m completely ignoring this blog, because I’m really not trying to. Life has just been getting in the way lately.

One thought on “Going Underground

  1. It sounds like you have a lot on your plate, but man, what a meal! xD How cool is it that you are contributing an entry for NaNoWriMo! I wish you the best with that and your Persona 4 review–you’ll have to post a link to it here when you’re finished.

Leave a Reply

